Getaways

Recently I got a chance to drive to Big Sur, California for a random getaway. I have to tell you that it was worth it all. Yeah it was nearly four hours to drive from Roseville but the sights and sounds more than made up for it. On our way there I have to tell you though that the car we had rented for the two days was not exactly the most comfortable for a long drive. The car, of all cars we could have gotten, was a white 2008 Jeep Wrangler. It was very spacious inside, rather big on the outside but a huge gas guzzler.

We spent a few hours walking and taking a few photos of the trail in the Julia Pfeiffer Burns State Park. It was very serene and awe-inspiring to say the least. From corner to corner of my eyes the views were amazing. This was truly the first time in a long time that I had ever gotten out of the house; like really actually gone out other than the occasional trip to the mail box if you want to call that an adventure.

Once we had explored the trail, we set course and our minds to eat some food. We ate at the Nepenthe restaurant and the view was even more amazing. I had their take on a burger and it was really good. My only gripe was that they didn’t cook the meat all the way but I don’t mind when my meat is a medium rare all that much.

That was all day one of two that my wife and I got to getaway from the little town we call home. What made it even better was that that day was quite literally unplanned until that Monday. We planned out how Friday would play out and how Saturday would be as well.

Saturday was actually more hectic than I had expected only because I wanted to be on the road by no later than 6:30am. The thing that hindered us from doing that was that the night before we started putting both the tables, the canopy, folding chairs and the easels into the back of the Jeep. We then started thinking about what we wanted to take and the actual things that we needed to take.

Once that was settled we decided to try and sleep before our nearly five hour drive to our final destination: The Sylvester Winery in Paso Robles, CA for their Art & Wine event that my wife was a part of. By this time I took a quick glance at the clock and was shocked to see that it was nearly one in the morning. Now, I am used to functioning with only about four or five hours of sleep but for some strange reason this time I couldn’t function the way I normally do.

I set my alarm for five in the morning so that I could take a quick shower to wake up and be alert. Unfortunately I heard the alarm but didn’t wake up in time. I looked at my iPhone, only because that is my alarm, and I saw that it was already close 6am. I freaked out, jumped out of bed, grabbed my clothes and headed to the bathroom to splash some freezing cold water.

Jamie, my wife, wakes up just a few moments after I do and starts to get ready. We head to the gas station to fill up, go to the Starbucks I work to get some food and energy for our great adventure. Talked to the girls, I looked at the route that I was going to take, grabbed our food and drinks and set course for Paso Robles.

Now, let me tell you that driving in leather seats, while the sun is out, no protection from the sun, gusty wind on the road and having to go to the bathroom with the next stop being nearly one hundred miles away is not exactly the best feeling in the world. We stopped about halfway from our destination to both get more gas and use the restrooms.

So, we were back on the road again I wanted to make up some lost time because if I drove the speed limit we would have gotten to the winery by noon. I was about as scared as you would be if you went up against Mohammad Ali in a fight while being blindfolded and one hand tied behind your back. Thankfully we made it in just under four and a half hours so that we could set up the canopy, tables and get her paintings up for display.

We spent four hours watching, waiting and mingling with passersby as well as the other artists that were there. By this time we were starving and wanted to get back home so we can rest. So we packed all our stuff and started looking at local places to consume our daily nourishment of carbs and liquids. Since Jamie is a vegetarian I have to be accommodating to that.

We both decided on pizza. The place: Red Brick Pizza. Now, I had never heard of this place before so this was yet another new experience for me. The pricing was fair, the food was okay and the atmosphere was so-so. To say the least we enjoyed it.

Once we had finished our food, we got more gas and started making our way back home. On our way back I remembered always stopping by Andersen’s with my family and wanted to stop to continue that tradition. My wife was ecstatic. She had never been there before and was happy that we were going to eat again. We split a Cobb Salad and ordered a piece of cheesecake. Both were of good portion and we had to get a to go container for our remaining cheesecake.

Once our dinner was over with, we filled up once more and were back on the road once more. All in all it was a good two days that I spent with my wife and I don’t think I can muster up the strength and energy to drive for as long as I did for some time. Maybe in a few months?

Leave a Reply

