The original Avatar

Last night I got a chance to go see The Last Airbender with my wife and sister for a small cinematic adventure.

The anime based movie is M. Night Shyamalan’s most recent movie about a chosen boy who chooses not to the chosen one. The young boy, Aang, is born an air-bender and was chosen to be the avatar because of a test that he passed by choosing some toys. Young Aang then runs away and gets caught in a storm and is left in a frozen state for a hundred years until a young girl named Katara and her older brother Sokka find him and release him from from the iceberg he has been in for the last century.

Within the first few minutes of the movie’s beginning I was amazed how the overall movie would be like. I can sometimes tell when a movie will keep me glued to the edge of my seat or if I will want to stand up and not even bother finishing it within the first few minutes. There are a few occasions when it takes longer but I will not get into that now.

The story is based on the animated TV show that aired on Nickelodeon in 2005 and true to the series. I have to commend M. Night for this and sticking as close as he did to the series. There are very few that can do this and achieve an amazing result. Yeah some points of the story were a tad out of sequence and possibly left out but I think that is what kept the story from being boring.

The special effects were very creative, vivid, fun and well executed through out the entire movie. There were however a few moments when I could tell that it was green screen. Mind you I often nitpick these little things from time to time and find myself realizing that I should not be looking for them when I should be paying attention to the other elements of what actually make the movie. The acting, for example, were really good. Some parts made me question the casting but overall didn’t hinder the storyline in the slightest.

To sum things up I actually liked this movie. It had a good, strong storyline, good acting, well executed special effects and was a good addition to the already well made animated series from years ago.

Leave a Reply

