Update

So this is now my third semester attending WestWood and so far it is a bit harder than before. I do like the challenge but am not really sure it I will be able to hold up for the next couple of years. I know that I am capable of doing this but it just seems like so much at once. I really have to take it all one at a time. It really is so much easier said than done. In this semester having to research, read, draw, sketch and write is going to be so hard for me because I tend to leave everything to the last minute. I have to stop doing that!

In my English class I have to write a descriptive essay about a certain event in my life. The thing that really sucks is that I still have no idea what I want to write about. It is a toss-up between my wedding day or my first day of karate. My first day of karate was and still is a big part of who I am and the way I am today. Thinking back to an event in my life that happened over five years ago is hard because of all the things to describe and recall. There are the minor details that I want to include only because I want to recreate the experience as best as possible. Now, the only question will be the tone of my essay.

The way I write anything is rather unique in that I have to use a bit of humor, similes, some anecdotes, and contradictory words to try to elaborate on what I want to get across. Creatively writing is one thing that I really love doing because I get most, if not a lot, of my inspiration from other writers and songs. Imagery will be a very vital role when I complete my essay. On that note I think that I will actually do my essay on my first karate class.

I can recall being there in my regular pair of pants, my sister next to me, my parents talking to the instructor’s wife and seeing my reflection in what was going to be a life altering journey. It will a great thing to write about that day and it will truly bring back so many great memories about that day.

My writing is getting a little better but I have to say that my drawing, reading and sketching could use some improvement. I really have to start reading more and more. I do find it hard to really sit and read for long periods of time. I used to be able to when I was younger but now I am almost easily distracted by almost anything. That is a bad thing for me because it takes away from both my focus and concentration. I think I want to create a time for me to read a book at least ten to fifteen minutes a day even if it means before I go to sleep. I think that for my first book I will read the complete Edgar Allan Poe collection. I have been meaning to read those for so long now that I feel almost saddened that it has been in my possession for so long and I have only really read two of those stories.

For now, I will keep my head up and thoughts on what the end result is and will be.

Leave a Reply

