Holidays

Okay, so today one of my Facebook friends updated his status to state that he doesn’t like it when people say Xmas. Then one of his friends proceeds to say that they don’t like it when people say “happy holidays.” The only thing that really kept going through my head was that most of my generation is not all too embracing and can be simple-minded at times. We all celebrate a holiday of some sort so what seems to be wrong with saying that? Whether it’s Hanukkah or Kwanzaa we all share one common thing and that is that we celebrate them with friends and family.

For some reason it has really struck a nerve and I can’t seem to get it out of my mind. I am usually one to just move on but this I can’t seem to let go of. I think a lot of it is because I am nothing like most of the people who I went to school with. What does make it better is that I am happy I am nothing like some of the people in my school. Most of them were self-centered and a little selfish. I out grew that years before I went into high school. I got along with a good portion of the people but that doesn’t mean I actually liked them. I often forget that.

I think part of the reason the words can’t seem to escape my mind is because I don’t like to celebrate all that much. Over the years it feels like I have lost interest in celebrations. Don’t get me wrong I am one for getting together and throwing a party but when it comes to over-commercialized and driven down your throat tactics to create revenue I find it almost obscene and a little ridiculous. Is it really too much to ask that we celebrate holidays in the manner they occur? I don’t want to think about Rudolph as I light a sparkler with my family. Christmas in July?

Will this madness ever really end? Not only that there are people who start to think about the Easter bunny while roasting the turkey. I think this rant is over for now. I can’t keep dwelling on it or else I won’t be able to look ahead.

Leave a Reply

