Fresh Starts

So the year is coming to an end and I can’t think of anything better to write about than what the next year will bring. It’s so strange to think that I will be working at Starbucks for four year now and Mel’s for just as long. I’m not really sure how I fully feel about that. Part of me is happy that I have been with both companies as long as I have been but at the same time I feel like I’m never going to leave either one.

I can make a list of things I want to happen for the year or even things I would love to be able to change before the year is done but will it really make me happy? I know that I want to work on a personal website but feel a little uninspired at the moment. I have a few things in mind but I have to get a little better and improve the work I do. The only way to really do that is by actually doing it and trying. So that means I have to fire up Photoshop and Illustrator and find solutions to the issues I create for myself.

For some reason I cannot get myself to actually try any tutorial I see. It almost seems weird for me to do it. I see them, read them and still can’t seem to actually do it. I can’t seem to find a reason why I do this. It is a little frustrating to say the least. Especially when I am the type of person that has to know why.

I think for the next several weeks I will have to try and write down my thoughts and try to draw out the images in head in a little journal I had almost forgotten I left in my car a few years ago. Now to just find my art pens so that I can work on cartoon drawings and even some poetry lines that pop in my head. I often find myself thinking about things like that and will forget to write them down.

It does make me a little sad knowing that I can come up with a single line of prose and it will slowly fade away and will soon be forgotten. Part of that reason is because I don’t always have a pen and paper handy or am at work and can’t write it down. It’s like I have to work on my memory more and more as I get older now. Time to start taking my vitamins, I guess.

Leave a Reply

