The human element

While I was sitting at work all I kept thinking was why I do what I do. I know I have a future that I see before me in my mind’s eye that I want to achieve. I started to think about my previous job and what kept me going back to it. It all boiled down to one thing: people.

Ever since I could remember I have been a people person. At least I like to think of myself that way. It almost feels like I have to make people happy but I know that is not true. It seems odd to say that. Let me find the right words and the right manner to actually get my point across. I love to see people happy. I take pride in know that I was capable of turning somebody’s life, day or even that moment around even for just one second. Positive thinking has played a huge role in that for me.

The other day I was working. Big shock! I was ringing up a lady and as I went to swipe her credit card I asked her how her day had been going so far. She was a little hesitant at first and simply replied with a shrug and the typical you don’t want to know response. I looked at her and told her that I genuinely wanted to know, why else would I ask her? I am after all a human.

I think some people tend to forget that and disregard it as if they have more important things to do or worry about. Almost a bigger self-importance they hold above all else. I don’t know. It could just be me.

So, finally she decides to say something and tells me that her day had been pretty bad. I looked at her and told her that it was good that she was letting it out. Keeping things bottled up can lead to bad things. We all need a form of ventilation and I wanted to be part of that. She proceeds to tell me her life story and how she was going on her third month of alcohol rehabilitation. I looked at her and told that she was a strong person for taking it upon herself to make a huge step in her life. Any type of recovery is difficult, let alone one by yourself.

I can’t help but wonder now as to how she is doing several days later after having come into contact with a person that wanted to hear pour out her mind. I think that will be the biggest thing that will be a part of me. It’s that part of me that I like to think everybody has in them and it just takes a little bit of effort to unleash. That human element. What I like to think makes everybody who they are and act the way they do.

It’s weird thinking about these things sometimes and realize that I am not alone when I think like that. I have so many stories that could make a person question my character. I have done far too many generous things to people I have barely met. To this day I wonder what happened to a family I gave gas money to so they can make it home. What happened to the guy that locked his car keys inside his car but barely had enough to cover the cost of AAA to help him out. T o the people that have come in to my store and didn’t have enough to pay for the one drink they had been yearning for.

I can safely say that I am happy with the good deeds I do for others…

Leave a Reply

