Managing time and content

These past few days have been pretty fun. I got a new book on PHP and have been reading it on and off. I love the progress I have made with the knowledge I have accumulated. I quite literally went from knowing what the language is to know being able to understand how it actually works and how to better implement it.

The next thing that I really want to be tackle is my personal site. I have put this off for far too long and I think it is about time I started making some mockups and trial and errors so I can really push myself and truly be happy with my choice in life. I have an idea that I would love to be able to implement but I feel like I will struggle with it for a bit. I know I will learn a lot from it so if anything I am actually looking forward to working on this personal side project.

The next thing that is on my mind is content. What I mean by this is that as of lately I have been looking at different Content Management Systems and trying to figure out how they work. Let me rephrase that because I know how they work; they all work in the same manner but the coding is and how they handle the data is a bit different for each one. I have recently started to look into Joomla. I wanted to try Drupal as well but I think that will be for another time. The way WordPress works is pretty simple but a little complex at the same time. After looking at all the lines of code I quickly realized that this may very well be my future CMS project to tackle for my own personal site. Joomla, on the other hand, will be practiced on a site that I am currently in the middle of working on for a friend.

I had the pleasure of being asked to create a simple site for him and I know that I will be able to deliver what he wants. I still have a few things to sort out but I feel pretty confident that I will be able to meet my deadline of the end of this month. The only things I really have to do is make a working contact form but for some reason I seem to feel like I have halted in this step. Almost a mental block of ideas and code. I really need to start looking at other examples and trying them out to see how they fit with the site. The next step will be implementing a smaller version of a content management system for them to upload articles to share with not only future prospects but for other visitors as well.

I think this will be a great way for me to end my year…

Leave a Reply

