Infrequent status updates

As many of my friends and family may know I love doing WordPress theme reviews on my downtime.  Over the years I have gathered and read a lot code. A good ninety percent, of course, being WordPress related. In between those reviews I also like doing forum support on the WordPress.org site.

Yes, I like to see others happy. Because of these things I don’t post a lot on my Facebook profile but have been frequenting my twitter profile a little more.  It’s not that I favor one over the other. At the moment it’s just a little easier for me to post things on twitter. But that’s beside the point.

What happened?

The main reason I’m really posting this is to share my most recent and greatest thing that happened to me.

At the beginning of the year I made a promise that I would find a way to give back to the WordPress community more than I already have besides reviews and support. Well, this is happening and am both nervous and super excited all at once.

I frequent the make WordPress blogs to keep up-to-date on what is happening within not only the project but the entire community. Well, every so often all the teams that make up WordPress post updates on one single blog in order to communicate. Within those groups two people are chosen to be the liaisons of the group and relay pertinent information to each other.

I was lucky enough to  be chosen by a majority of the people to be the primary representative of the theme review team. I am super elated. Super nervous and everything in between.

I’m super nervous only because it will feel like a second job to me. At least that is how I’m viewing it. I know it’s not though I’m hoping it will open a few more doors for me down the road.

Going with my gut

I know I’m going to do a great job because I’ve always loved communication. A few years ago I was at a friend’s show at Sacramento State. One of her family members asked me what I was studying. I looked at her and said that at the moment I wasn’t in school but I was learning about visual communications.

Seven years of working at Starbucks and the one thing that it has taught me is that communication is key. That is, and will always be, the one thing that many people have loved about me when they work with me. The main reason for that is because I hate being lost. I hate not knowing.

Always have. Always will.

Lost?

Yes, lost. Without any direction all you’re really doing is creating a storm of dead ends and broken links. It would be like leaving the top off a blender as you press the ice crusher setting. Sounds like fun, right?

I think that is why I’ve been a little irritated the last couple of days because some people don’t really know how to communicate through the right channels. It’s a bit of a pet peeve of mine. Just hoping it won’t last much longer.

For now, I’ll just keep my head up and help out the WordPress community as best as I can.

Leave a Reply

