The beauty within

You know what? Over the last few years I’ve talked about a lot of things. School, being a dad, a husband, brother, cousin and even a theme reviewer. There is one thing though I haven’t really talked much about.

My wife.

It does sound a little strange but it is true. I don’t really talk about her; I do mention her from time to time but that’s about it.

Some history

A lot of people ask me how we first met. What’s really weird is sometimes I can’t really recall the first time we ever met. I do, however, remember seeing each other in middle school. We both went to Eich Middle School. It was two years; seventh and eighth grade. So long ago.

We went to the same high school. Oakmont. Not much to really say about that time since we only would talk. And that was towards the last year, or so, of high school. The main reason was because we shared a few friends in common. Yes, I was a bit talkative when I was younger. A bit of a shock to some.

Flash forward a little bit and I’m still living at home, working at Plutos in the Galleria. It was an okay job. It had its perks and its ups and downs.

A domino effect

I like to think that what really started the chain reaction that would now become our marriage and our little family is a simple program. MSN Messenger. Yep. Online.

I remember one day laying down, on my stomach, talking to a few people I’d met in a random chat room. One lived in Australia and another lived in England. We were talking about music and random artists that we had come across over the years when I saw Jamie’s little username change. Didn’t think too much about it and kept going about my business.

Some time had passed and I decided I wanted to talk to friend. An actual friend. The weird thing is I honestly can’t recall how I got her username. To this day I still question that. I just know that if I hadn’t decided to talk to her I wouldn’t have married my best friend.

We have been through a lot together. We have experienced a lot as well. To be honest I really wouldn’t change a thing about it. Okay maybe a few things but they are trivial and I have no control over them.

My motivation

And you know what? She really is and has been. She is one of the reasons I work as hard as I do. Biggest reason I want to be great dad for SJ is her. I know I don’t always share that with the world but it’s true. It’s a hard quality to find in a lot of people sometimes.

My inspiration

It often does feel like I learn something new everyday when I’m with Jamie. For years she’s painted. I have seen her progress and inspire so much through her mixed mediums. It’s amazing what she can do with just a few colors and some time.

I love seeing her in her artistic world with headphones on and brush in hand. It amazes me how far her art has taken her. All the shows she’s been a part of and all the shows she helped put together. Yeah. She does know how to organize an event. Like I said: my inspiration.

My loves

For the last two years, Salvador has been a thorn on both our sides. I mean that in a good way. We freaking love him more than we love ourselves. You can see it in his face. He’s always smiling when he’s around others.

As I mentioned earlier I don’t really talk much about Jamie. Doesn’t mean I don’t love her. She is a part of my life.

Always will be.

In my heart and in my mind.

Leave a Reply

