Time makes fools of us all

Here I am sitting on the couch, typing and reading Grunt documentation. Trying to wrap my head around such a simple thing. I say simple only because to me it makes sense but I tend to over think sometimes. I wasn’t always like that of course. In my younger years I never posed questions. I never thought about the why, or how.

Today’s thought process is brought to in part by a post from the daily post blog. I’ve worked my current job for nearly eight years. I lost track after five really. I think that goes to show you how I feel about age and numbers. I know there are people who think it’s just a number and I don’t disagree; it can be. Personally I have always felt that age is a state of mind. You are as old as you want to be.

Granted I do think about how old I am at times only because my kiddo reminds me when we look in the mirror and make random, goofy faces. An even better example is when Jamie reminds me of when my birthday is and how old I’ll be. I’ll play along of course but I really stopped thinking about the number.

It does remind me of a few months back when I was telling the people inside the store that the store was getting ready to close for the night. A couple of ladies were sitting down in the corner. I walked up to them and told them that unfortunately our doors would be closing shortly and they have to leave. Essentially kicking them out as politely as I could. One of the ladies began to stand up and said, “You’d really kick out two old ladies?”

I smiled and said, “You’re only as old as you want to be.”

“I like that!” said the second lady.

Part of that reason –for me– is because you really are as old as you want to be. That number does not have to define how to act or think. I’ve met teenagers that think and act like retired parents and vice versa. A great example of this would be my dad. He will always be that prankster trying to get a laugh out of everyone. Much like I can at times.

We are human and we are all different in some way or another, right?

One thought on “Time makes fools of us all

Leave a Reply

