Cooking with fire

Late one night I was minding my own business when I realized I was at work. I was daydreaming again. I was relaxed, didn’t have a care in the world and still daydreaming. I mean I guess you can say it was night dreaming since it was happening at night but it just sounds strange.

And I was at work.

Cleaning.

Okay, probably not cleaning just making it look like I was but that gives you a better mental image than me just standing waiting for the person to finish placing an order in front of the order screen. The night was a steady night with our typical customer or two asking for strange drinks from a “secret” menu that I still have yet to fully read and most likely never will either.

The night took a bit of a strange turn when I saw a guy knocking on our door. I didn’t think much of it since we get the occasional person thinking that the lobby is open 24/7 when, of course, it isn’t. I mean clearly when a giant garbage can is blocking the entrance it means that place is open.

He kept knocking. He just wouldn’t stop.

Knock. Knock. Knock.

Finally I got tired of him signaling randomly and walked toward the door. Open the door and say, “sorry our lobby is closed, but our drive-thru is open.”

He looks at me, points and says, “um, that restaurant is smoking. The sprinklers are on.”

Great. Just great.

The little taqueria that was in the complex was on fire. Nothing to worry about. Just a little bit of heat. I get on the phone and call 911. They dispatch firefighters and tell me to exit the building. I was sort of hoping to make some s’mores with rice krispies and milk chocolate grahams.

So, they arrive as my co-workers and I nearly freeze to death while we watch them do their thing. I had to snap a picture of one of the guys setting up a ladder so they could access the roof. Did I know him? Nope. He will remain a stranger to me only because I never got a chance to talk to him.

On the plus side the fire was put out and they later found out it was an electrical fire that caused it.

Leave a Reply

