A sanity check

There are times when I have to question my own sanity. I look in the mirror and question my own motives. It’s been more apparent this last week.

As some may know I went to San Francisco to attend WordCamp San Francisco and was invited for the community summit as well as the contributor days. I cannot say how thankful, grateful and super privileged I felt being around all those people. I got a chance to meet new friends and make lasting impressions on some, too. I learned a lot about not only myself but the people I had only talked to via computer or mobile device.

It was a great experience.

One thing that really made me think was a shirt that I saw. It read: Do what you love what you do. The design was a little odd in that the word Love was the center focus and created the phrase, “do what you love, love what you do.” It was a little odd to see but it made total sense. I love what I do. And that is contribute my time and effort to help out people on the WordPress.org forums and in reviewing themes.

The one thing I would like to change though is when I can. Currently I try to do it when my little man is asleep and when I’m not at home. The issue with that is I don’t sleep properly so it takes a mental toll. So much for some sanity in my life. Then again I don’t think I’ve ever really been fully sane in the brain. After years of only sleeping for about four hours a day I can barely recall when I had a full eight hours of sleep or as many refer to healthy sleep.

Oh, well. Things will change down the road and I’m going to make sure of that.

Leave a Reply

