A vacation of sorts

I got to work and saw some coworkers I hadn’t seen in over a week. It was nice. I love seeing familiar faces. Even better when I know that they are doing better now than they were when I last saw them.

I think I need a vacation. A long one. I’ve not taken time off in a long time and it is driving me a little crazy. I get irritable a lot faster than before and I don’t like it.

I need to find my inner zen and roll with it. That little bit of balance that has kept me going for as long a I have. I miss that. A lot. Part of the reason I haven’t done that is because I’ve been stressing over the little things. I do that too much. I worry about friends, family and people I encounter in my life. To this day I still wonder how my friend’s family is doing since he passed away. I worry about his ex-wife and her daughter and how they’ve been doing. I worry about this one couple I met one night at work.

Yes, I engage random conversations with all sorts of people and there isn’t a moment in my life that I don’t think about them. This week and last week included. I can’t help but wonder how the organizers and volunteers are doing and what they are doing.

I know I shouldn’t. I still do but I shouldn’t.

Life has surprised me and swept me of my feet for the last two decades. I’ve been to many places, talked to a lot of people and offended several more. There are times when I wonder where my life is leading me and where my place in this world is.

The only thing I know is that I will get there one step at a time and one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

