Celebrations will happen

Three years ago I became a father. I’m surprised I made it this far with only a few gray hairs. Yes, I have some. No, I will not take a picture of them; that’s just weird. In that timeframe I learned to be more patient and a little more understanding. Granted there are times I lost my cool and had to step away for a minute or two. Yes even parents need a time out from time to time.

It’s strange when I look back at how quickly that time flew and things that I did and didn’t do leap at me and I can’t help but wonder what this year will have in store for me. What will I accomplish; what do I want to accomplish?

I think what makes this time of year more meaningful is that it’s not just a birthday but a mid-year check. A pseudo marker for the year.

All I know is that come June I’m looking forward to seeing my kiddo’s face when he opens a present and plays with his new toys. I light up when I hear him try and pronounce new words or even when he says words I’ve only said once from weeks prior – though that does scare me at times. It makes me happy to hear his laugh when we’re playing and horsing around.

It scares me that he often behaves as I used to when I was his age. Not because of where I’m at but because of what it does to him. Not just physically but psychologically. Emotions run deep and he’s inherited that from me which may or may not be a good thing. Only time will tell.

One thought on “Celebrations will happen

  1. Emotions run deep for us too. It can be excruciating to watch them rise to the service and appear uncontrollable. Better this than being passively numb and boring though right? Life is too short not to feel it intensely, to have deep pits of sadness and rising mountains of anger lends to the most beautiful moments of happiness and love:-)

Leave a Reply

