Daycations and gifts

It’s been said many times that everyday is a gift. It can be. To many it is a blessing and some feel it is a curse. To each his own. We all think different and behave different.

It has been a few weeks since I last posted. I do like to share my stories and my thoughts on here. For personal reasons of course. Part of that reason is because I haven’t thought about many things. Okay, partially true. I had been thinking a lot about upgrading my phone for the longest time.

I did finally make the decision and upgraded to the iPhone 6S Plus.

Just a small change. Right?

A post shared by Jose Castaneda (@jmcasta85) on

I order it online because I was eligible for an upgrade so I made the leap. Placed the order on Friday afternoon and the package arrived Tuesday around 5PM. I was super anxious up until it arrived. I mean it has been quite some time since I got a new phone.

It doesn’t help that the last phone I had recently upgraded was to the basic 5 – which had been released in 2012.

Yeah. That long. I didn’t like the 5C, or the 6 it didn’t really offer much for me. Anyway, I’m starting to ramble a little bit.

Onward!

The last time I went to Yosemite was a long time ago. I say that because I can’t really recall the dates. If I can’t remember it has bee a long time.

A few weeks ago, I finally went for the day. With my sister. It was amazing. Yes, there was still some snow on the ground.

Love it at #Yosemite

A post shared by Jose Castaneda (@jmcasta85) on

It was a crisp, low 40’s ( Fahrenheit ) once we arrived. The drive was just as amazing. We walked to Mirror Lake and walked around for a bit. Took notice of quite a few trees.

That's a mighty big #tree

A post shared by Jose Castaneda (@jmcasta85) on

And the occasional rock structure.

Rock stacking while in #mirrorlake at #Yosemite Okay it was already there but still.

A post shared by Jose Castaneda (@jmcasta85) on

Needless to say it was a great view from anywhere in the valley floor.

A post shared by Jose Castaneda (@jmcasta85) on

The smells, the sounds, and the sights are the biggest reasons I love going there. Even if it is just for the day.

Recently, I have had a few other things on the mind as well. The first Saturday of November I attended WordCamp Sacramento. It was great! I volunteered for some of the things and attended two of the talks I was really looking forward to. I met and chatted with several people.

New connections were made and old feelings were encouraged. The coming days and weeks will be better for me in that side of my life. I am really looking forward to how things turn out. If anything else I’ll be learning new things along the way.

I know holidays are coming up and there is a myriad of feelings, emotions, thoughts, and call-them-what-you-wills that will play a huge part of it all. I just have one thing to say:

Bring ’em!

Leave a Reply

